Call Us Today!
855-515-2424

29 North Avenue
Ellijay,Georgia 30540

FAQ

How long does it take to complete the Massage Therapy Certification program?
Who can enroll in the Massage Therapy Certification program?
How much does the program cost?
Does Cohutta healing Arts Institute offer or administrate federal grants or Title IV funding?
Does Cohutta Healing Arts Institute offer student tuition accounts or payment plans?
Are there scholarships available?
What happens when I’ve graduated?
Where will I work?
What is the difference between certification and licensure?
Will I need to take a licensure exam upon completion of the Massage Therapy Certification program at Cohutta Healing Arts Institute?
Is anything else required for licensure?
How much money can I earn as a Licensed Massage Therapist?
Does Cohutta Healing Arts Institute accept course credit from other schools?
What is the cost of textbooks?
Will I have to purchase equipment, supplies or insurance?
Can I purchase equipment and supplies at Cohutta Healing Arts Institute?

How long does it take to complete the Massage Therapy Certification program?
The Massage Therapy Certification Program is a 755 hour training program that is divided into four 11 week quarters. This program will take one year to complete. Spring Evening Classes begin each April and meet on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday  from 5:00 – 10:00pm, and 3 Saturdays per quarter 11:00am – 5:30pm.  Fall Day Classes begin each September and meet on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday from 10:00am – 3:oopm, and 3 Saturdays per quarter 11:00am – 5:30pm.

Who can enroll in the Massage Therapy Certification program?
You must be at least 18 years old.
You must have a high school diploma or have a GED and have command of the English language.
You must be a citizen of the United States of America.
You must be of sound moral character (must be able to pass a background check as required by the state of Georgia to obtain a license.)

How much does the program cost?
A quality massage therapy education is an investment in your future. The Cohutta Healing Arts Institute Massage Therapy Certification Program includes 50% more hours than is required by the state of Georgia and is priced below industry averages. The Certification Program is a total of 755 hours of training divided into four 11-week quarters. For about $12/hour, our Massage Therapy Certification will help you begin a new career or enhance your current massage techniques.  Click here for further details.

Does Cohutta healing Arts Institute offer or administrate federal grants or Title IV funding?
No

Does Cohutta Healing Arts Institute offer student tuition accounts or payment plans?
Yes. Talk with the Director of Administration for details.

Are there scholarships available?
Talk with the Director of Administration for details.

What happens when I’ve graduated?
You will be required to take a licensing exam, and once you’ve passed, apply to the State of Georgia Massage Therapy Board for a license to practice.

Where will I work?
Most graduates eventually establish a private practice, but many graduates will gain their initial employment experience in group practices, salons and day spas, chiropractic clinics, retirement homes, on-site massage services, hospitals, rehabilitation clinics and in integrative psychotherapeutic practice.

Participation in the Cohutta Healing Arts Institute, School of Massage is not a guarantee of employment. Placement services are available for those students who have completed the program and become licensed in the state in which they are seeking employment. Placement services include:

  • Job postings from companies interested in hiring Licensed Massage Therapists.
  • Presentations from potential employers or franchise organizations.
  • Self-employment training.
  • Licensed Massage Therapist Profile Listings – Resumes & General Information.

Alumni of the Cohutta Healing Arts Institute will be granted access to our placement services. However, if the Cohutta Healing Arts Institute receives complaints regarding an alumni, we reserve the right to restrict access to our placement services.

What is the difference between certification and licensure?
Certification is a professional designation issued by academic institutions to individuals who have successfully completed training in required areas of instruction. Licensure is a government-sanctioned regulation of certified professionals. Georgia requires all massage therapists to hold a state issued license in order to practice.

Will I need to take a licensure exam upon completion of the Massage Therapy Certification program at Cohutta Healing Arts Institute?
Graduates applying for Georgia state licensure are required to pass a state-approved licensure exam, currently administered by  the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards – MBlex.

Is anything else required for licensure?
In addition to passing the state boards, an applicant for licensure must be fingerprinted and pass a background check administered by the Georgia Crime Information Center, and pay their exam and licensure fees. Persons with a history of a felony conviction or certain misdemeanors may not be allowed to be licensed as a massage therapist. If you have such a history, please contact the Director of Administration at 855-515-2424 for instructions on how to proceed before applying to school. The details of fees and application process are available on the State of Georgia website, http://sos.georgia.gov/plb/massage.

How much money can I earn as a Licensed Massage Therapist?
The amount clients pay for massage varies a great deal depending on the setting and the region of the country where they receive the massage. A common price range for massage is $40–$90 an hour, with some lavish spas charging even more. Massage therapists in private practice take home the entire amount, after deducting expenses and taxes. Expenses include all business costs such as advertising and marketing, insurance, laundry, phone, rent, supplies (e.g., linens and oil), and utilities.

A massage therapist who works as an employee will often be paid a flat fee for each massage. This fee can range from $15 to $40 an hour.

Does Cohutta Healing Arts Institute accept course credit from other schools?
No, not at this time.

What is the cost of textbooks?
Required textbooks are included in the cost of your initial fees.

Will I have to purchase equipment, supplies or insurance?
Student level, comprehensive liability insurance, and a starting supply of massage creams and oils are included in the cost of your initial fees.

Other items that are required are (and not included in your initial fees):

  • Writing utensils and paper
  • Massage lotions, creams or oils as needed
  • A minimum of 2 sets of massage sheets for class / a minimum of 4 sets of massage sheets for clinical internship, and other misc. linens
  • Scrubs for clinical internship
  • Laptop or Electronic Tablet for in class work
  • Access to the internet outside of class (with web camera capability)

Can I purchase equipment and supplies at Cohutta Healing Arts Institute?
Yes. A complete retail area is provided for students as well as non-students to purchase massage tables, massage chairs, aromatherapy essences, massage tools, fleece table pads, massage music and environmental sounds on CD, lotions, oils, and massage clothing.